Sun is shinin’ in the sky

There ain’t a cloud in sight…

One of my favorite ELO tracks, Mr. Blue Sky, was playing in my head while I did this piece.

Here in North Texas, this summer of 2011 is on track for being one of the hottest on record. The heat now, midway through the summer, is an overbearing, liquid omnipresence. And yet, if you rise early enough, the sun appears to be just the very bright, benevolent light we are used to in our vast Texan skies. I wanted to show the kind and harsh aspects of the sun so I painted on Yupo, a synthetic paper with a very slick surface, to capture the liquid heat. The liquid watercolor I use sat on the surface, pooling and retracting as I worked it. Ironically, it took a very long time to dry – even under the currently brutal Texan sun.

Leave a Reply

